Bliss N Eso – Down By River

The Aussie’s know their catchy hip hop. I don’t know what it is, but their beats really get the head bobbin’. This one has a little bit of a rock feel to it with the chorus. I started a new job today at a radio promotion company called Tinderbox Music and I was talking to another intern who has been drumming for a long time. He said hip hop really draws him because the drum samples are so fun to analyze. It got me to thinking that a lot of my favorite hip hop songs have emphasized snares. They aren’t just keeping the beat, but are absolutely essential to the music. That might be a pretty broad classification of catchy hip hop but it’s a start.

Here’s the official video if you are interested. The intro is too long for the youtube playlist but the video is good aside from that.

About nbentley01

The hottest guy whose name is Nate, got a useless degree in political science, who hasn't seen Avatar, and won't eat Church's Chicken
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bliss N Eso – Down By River

  1. Tu mamá says:

    Lots of 60s-70s rock lyric echos here. Even an oldie like me can hear The Doors’ “Light My Fire” behind “. . . my fire higher, higher/It took me higher, higher.”

  2. Bo Jackson says:

    I hear you on the Aussie Hip Hop. I didn’t even know that it existed but it never fails to get the head bobbin’.

Leave a Reply

